Managing Historic Heritage

Central and local government have shared responsibility for managing historic heritage. Organisations involved include: Ministry for Culture and Heritage, Ministry for the Environment, Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga, local authorities, iwi and hapu, heritage protection authorities and community groups.

There are two main pieces of legislation which protect historic heritage: the Resource Management Act (RMA) and the Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Act 2014 (“Heritage NZ Act”). The RMA regulates impacts on heritage (among other things) caused by resource use and development. The Heritage NZ Act sets up a separate process to manage heritage sites, control modifications to archaeological sites, and create an advocate in Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga (“Heritage NZ”).

Last updated at 3:04PM on November 17, 2017