Unitary Authorities

A unitary authority is a territorial authority that has the responsibilities, duties and powers of a regional council. 1328  There are six unitary authorities in New Zealand: Auckland Council, Gisborne District Council, Chatham Islands Council, Nelson City Council, Marlborough District Council and Tasman District Council.

For a full list of unitary councils and their contact details click here

  1. Section 5 Local Government Act 2002

Last updated at 3:50PM on March 13, 2018